The Mind’s Eye came from filmmaker Joe Begos, his second feature to Almost Human [2013], made in the form of a lost version of the Scanners famed horror franchise, and used many practical techniques to the body inflicting telekinetic movie. However, unlike his first movie, this time he presented and equally impressive film score, from the group Zombi, none other than Steve Moore, a synthesizer genius and electronic music guru. Moore, a composer for other horror films such as The Cub [2014], presents heavily inspired and influenced version John Carpenter’s masterpieces. Many horror fans know that the return of synth music stretching across the horror genre in recent shows the continued importance of the scores, not just from songs of a local or famous band, while they work in some features, Rob Zombie’s 31 [2016], they can carry an independent film to the next level. The licensing of a track might ruin a filmmaker’s budget, and hence finding a composer to work with becomes the next viable option. Moore’s background and progressive rock unleashed onto unrespecting listeners and engages them on a completely new level and for others it feels as a return of the legendary work of Goblin.

The tension and suspense along with the action pulsing sequence echo clearly on each track, regardless if any listeners saw the film or not. A fondness for Romero and Argento finds themselves interwoven into this soundtrack, deepening for a lasting enjoyment. A few of the standout tracks come from track 6 – “The Shot” at the 1.10 minute mark, sounds like the Christine [1983] score of the car’s headlights gleaming outward in the darkness and hunting down vandals. Then the eighth track “Zack’s Out the Bag” from the start of Halloween pops into mind, the alertness of senses building gradually not rushed, adding to the tension and bringing the audience to the edge, at 1.06 (think of Michael Myers climbing onto Dr. Loomis’ station wagon). It’s these elements, which create a wondrous listening pleasure and capture much of visuals occurring on the screen.

While many of the tracks find them clocking under the two and half minutes, the final track called “End Credits” crests over 7-minutes, and the variation between the tracks changes enough not to become monotonous, though hints reflecting to the telekinetic powers in effect with powerful arrangements.

Moore harnesses modern influences and reaches back into the seventies and eighties for homage moments but stays quite original. It all brings the listener a clear understanding of the fearful moments and of the importance of the final climax in the battle over evil, but if one never sees the film (not recommended) then the future listeners won’t suffer for this an 85-minute 33-track album.  The soundtrack available through Relapse Records’ Bandcamp site for digital downloads, or as a compact disc, in addition for those so inclined, a double LP also exists.

Track Listing:

1 – Intro 3.23
2 – Police Station 2.20
3 – Interrogation 2.39
4 – Titles 2.33
5 – Zack Attack 2.05
6 – The Shot 2.49
7 – Good Girl 1.56
8 – Zack’s Out The Bag 4.18
9 – The Escape Pt 1 3.02
10 – The Escape Pt 2 1.57
11 – Stitches 2.12
12 – Father and Son .48
13 – I Trust Her So Much 2.27
14 – It’s Complicated 2.41
15 – What Are You Waiting For 1.33
16 – Injections 1.57
17 – Kurt and Travis Arrive 2.15
18 – You’re making a big mistake 2.40
19 – Mike vs Kurt 1.26
20 – Confrontation 5.22
21 – Rayne in Blood 2.58
22 – Goodbye 2.42
23 – Armstrong Splits 1.40
24 – On The Phone 2.03
25 – Zack’s Back 4.13
26 – Zack vs Travis: The Rematch 1.45
27 – Get Ready 4.01
28 – Psychic War 1.20
29 – Slovak Escapes 2.22
30 – My Brain Does Not Tire 2.01
31 – This Ends Now 1.21
32 – The End 1.12
33 – End Credits 7.24

Release Date: December 2, 2016

Baron’s Rating: 4.0/5.0