Portland heavy metal/goth act IDLE HANDS is premiering their debut album Mana exclusively on Stereogum ahead of its May 10 release date via Eisenwald.

Stereogum says the album contains a “retro pulse” and that if we lived in “an alternative reality where the ’80s dalliance with both [traditional heavy metal and goth rock] took hold into future decades, nearly every song on the band’s debut, Mana, would be a hit.”

IDLE HANDS recently announced the addition of guitarist Cory Boyd (ex-Spellcaster) to the line-up, making the group a quintet. The band is currently on an extensive European tour, gallivanting across multiple countries, which included an appearance at Keep It True Festival 2019 with Candlemass, Satan and a ton of others.

Entering the studio only four months after the release of Don’t Waste Your Time, the heavy upstarts quickly went to work crafting their first full-length record. Mana
conjures an emotive 40-minute ride into the realms of traditional heavy metal, new wave and goth rock, while continuing to solidify the band’s unique brand of heavy music.

The album was recorded by Gabe Johnston and Zack Ohren (Machine Head), mixed by Johnston and Gabriel Franco, and mastered by the illustrious Brad Boatright (Yob, Corrosion of Conformity). Adam Burke painted the stellar cover art.

Pre-order Mana in various formats:


Featuring several former members of Spellcaster, IDLE HANDS made waves last year with the release of their critically-acclaimed debut EP Don’t Waste Your Time, which Banger TV called “the best debut of 2018.” Formed deep in the heart of the Pacific Northwest in 2017, the band initially began as a sole creative outlet for former Spellcaster bassist Gabriel Franco, who now handles vocals and rhythm guitar.

Additionally, the band is scheduled to perform at Psycho Swim, the official Psycho Las Vegas pre-party, on August 15 at the Daylight Beach Club with Corrosion of Conformity, Lucifer, ASG, Primitive Man and more.

FFO: In Solitude, Tribulation, The Sisters of Mercy, Paradise Lost


Gabriel Franco – vocals, guitar
Sebastian Silva – guitar
Cory Boyd – guitar
Brandon Hill – bass
Colin Vranizan – drums

Mana Track Listing:
Cosmic Overdrive
Don’t Waste Your Time
Give Me To The Night
Blade And The Will
Dragon, Why Do You Cry?
Double Negative
It’ll Be Over Before You Know It
A Single Solemn Rose




*Thanks to Carcosa PR